North Country Supervisory Union is responsible for the education of more than 2,600 students in the Northeast Kingdom of Vermont towns of Brighton, Charleston, Coventry, Derby, Holland, Jay, Lowell, Morgan, Newport City, Newport Town, Troy and Westfield.  There are nine elementary schools in the Supervisory Union, as well as preschool programs and the Encore After-School and Summer Program. The North Country Union Junior High School in Derby is home to approximately 275 seventh through eighth grade students from six of those towns, while North Country Union High School and the North Country Career Center host more than 700 ninth through twelfth grade students from all twelve member districts.  

Formerly Orleans Essex North Supervisory Union (OENSU) which goes back to the 1960’s, the name was changed to North Country Supervisory Union (NCSU) July 1, 2008 and approved by the Vermont Agency of Education to enable us to better identify with our North Country Union High and Junior High Schools.  The change also lessened confusion among the other supervisory unions.  NCSU is SU31, geographically the largest Supervisory Union in Vermont with 520 Square miles, of which the inclusive schools are encompassed by two counties, Orleans and Essex.

NCSU Statistics:

  12 Towns

  11 Schools

    1 Career and Technical Center

  16 School Boards

  63 School Board Members

413 Teachers

395 Staff Members

2,636 Students

Directions to North Country Supervisory Union 121 Duchess Ave. Suite A|Newport, VT 05855